help - is a chemistry degree worth it?

Watch
aaa120701
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
i am a former medicine student having been forced to study it but now i am reapplying for what i want to do. i am wondering about if a chemistry degree is worth it in terms of careers and job prospects - i really enjoy studying chemistry, having read some undergraduate material and am about to apply for it at Cambridge (phys natsci), manchester, nottingham, bristol and york. however, the prospects seem a little disappointing. i've considered physics and engineering however due to starting medicine i don't have further maths, plus i feel like i can't give up chemistry as a subject. is the chemical industry worth getting into?
Student-95
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Depends what you mean by 'worth it'. Chemists don't typically get paid very well but the degree is pretty flexible so you could always go into something else.

You don't need further maths for engineering but if you love studying chemistry then that would probably be the better choice.
Joinedup
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Are you open to non-chemistry careers after

e.g. accountancy, teaching, generic management gradschemes etc.
aaa120701
Rep:
?
(Original post by Joinedup)
Are you open to non-chemistry careers after

e.g. accountancy, teaching, generic management gradschemes etc.
yeah I'm looking into investment banking, management consultancy as an option. I really enjoying studying chemistry, it's just the career prospects seem a little disappointing in the chemical industry, namely bc of the pay compared to other careers like engineering. does the degree subject matter all that much with STEM - in that, e.g. could I do an automotive engineers role with a chemistry degree (with some training)? I'm just v confused and frankly a little worried.
ArtmisKco
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago