Naz ghanch
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
hi, did you manage to enrol your daughter into a school? which part of Scotland were you moving to?i haven't managed to find a space in a school yet. and I'm worried as we are still hoping to move once the lockdown is over.
Valeriex
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Naz ghanch)
hi, did you manage to enrol your daughter into a school? which part of Scotland were you moving to?i haven't managed to find a space in a school yet. and I'm worried as we are still hoping to move once the lockdown is over.
Okay I'm a 16yr old Scottish student going into my final year at school, so take what I think with a grain of salt as it might be different from what I know.
I think if you are moving to a fairly large town there will usually be 1 or more public highschools (I'm presuming that is what you are looking for) . I live in a town and there are 3 highschools (2 non-denominational, 1 catholic/religious) and they all have a capacity of over 1,500 students. So there will most likely be no problem in getting your daughter into a public highschool, as it is extremely unlikely that they are filled up and they would probably have to take you/offer a place if you are in the catchment area for any of their associated primaries. I don't know anything about fee-paying schools as well I don't go to one but I would also assume that they would let you in if you have the money .

And a note on primary schools, if you move into a street then whatever the catchment area is for that school then I think they are required to let you in even if the class is full. It's possible they might suggest another primary that has a space if it is nearby (in my street I literally live 30 seconds away from 2 separate primary schools). But they definitely have to take you in, if you are in the catchment area, they just might end up having to do a composite class or something.