Tom.Nook
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi all! (First time poster here).

So I'm a mature student looking to retrain as a physiotherapist and I'm going to need to study an access course as my first step.

Most of the Uni's I'm interested in attending (based in London) specify "Access to HE Diploma in Science".

I've found a course which is "Access to Allied Health", the graded units are in biology (30) and psychology (15). Does anyone know if a course like this will meet the requirement of 'science', or do I need to study a more specific science based course routed in biology/chemistry/physics?

Any advice appreciated - I've tried searching for the answer/reaching out to the Uni's, but I'm finding it difficult to find a straight answer.
Last edited by Tom.Nook; 1 year ago
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by sam.hop)
Hi all! (First time poster here).

So I'm a mature student looking to retrain as a physiotherapist and I'm going to need to study an access course as my first step.

Most of the Uni's I'm interested in attending (based in London) specify "Access to HE Diploma in Science".

I've found a course which is "Access to Allied Health", the graded units are in biology (30) and psychology (15). Does anyone know if a course like this will meet the requirement of 'science', or do I need to study a more specific science based course routed in biology/chemistry/physics?

Any advice appreciated - I've tried searching for the answer/reaching out to the Uni's, but I'm finding it difficult to find a straight answer.
Only the unis can tell you, the entrance pages should make it clear.
The difference is that access to health tends to include about 1x A levels worth of science, so its good for nursing and associated healthcare. There is a reasonable chance it will be ok for physio, but the only people who can confirm this are your target unis.or ask them. Normally where it specifies access it is quite clear on what they want.