__Khaleesi
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Advice Needed!!!

So here is the situation:

I'm an international student who has just finished my 2nd year doing a PPE at LSE. So I went to quite a traditional boarding school and so for uni I was really hoping for a 'classic' and 'traditional' British uni experience. I had my sight set on Oxford since I was a child, but alas I bombed one of my interviews.

After a bit of self loathing I had to make the choice between Durham and LSE (for PPE). I made the mistake on going purely on reputation and chose LSE. I had heard that the student experience wasn't great but I'm quite a bubbly person and so I thought I could make it work.

However, here I am half way through my degree (PPE at LSE is 4 years) and I can't help but feel that I am really not enjoying the Uni. Don't get me wrong I am enjoying the course (philosophy not so much) and I've been able to take loads of maths (which I quite like) but the student experience and community feel (or lack there of) is absolutely appalling. It feels more like a full time job than a university. I don't feel a part of LSE at all, it's really just the place I go to attend classes and lectures.

I have tried to join loads of club like: rugby, cricket, tennis and other societies but the same problems of the uni ensue into these clubs. Everyone seems so cutthroat and single-minded on getting an internship as opposed to loving their subject and the uni.

Anyways, rant over! I applied, and was accepted, to transfer onto the BSc in Economics and Mathematics at the Uni of St Andrews. I am really tempted to take up the offer, but I need some advice on whether people think this is a good idea or whether I'm making a huge mistake.
All feedback welcome (but please be nice and polite).
Econ1906
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago