The Student Room Group

English literature graduates PLEASE HELP

Hello,

I am studying this module for English lit and have to resit this essay as I was told my writing in too descriptive from the feedback I got. I was advised to do a critical analysis in my work, rather than state things. So the question I need to answer is : ‘Whether we fall by ambition, blood or lust, / Like diamonds we are cut with our own dust’ (Ferdinand in The Duchess of Malfi, 5.5.71-2). Examine the ways in which your two chosen texts present the ideas of free will, fate and destiny. To what extent are individuals responsible for their own destinies?.

I would be grateful if someone could guide me on how I should answer this, I have watched some youtube videos and they say I need a thesis first in my introduction. I am really not sure how to start it as the negative feedback has upset my abilities. What advice would you give to me on how to start my introduction and go about writing this essay?

I did a bit of research and have gathered that critical writing is about comparing other texts out their and voicing your own opinions. I am not sure how to do this as every website tells different information. Please could someone guide me?
Reply 1
Original post by rainbowcookie123
Hello,

I am studying this module for English lit and have to resit this essay as I was told my writing in too descriptive from the feedback I got. I was advised to do a critical analysis in my work, rather than state things. So the question I need to answer is : ‘Whether we fall by ambition, blood or lust, / Like diamonds we are cut with our own dust’ (Ferdinand in The Duchess of Malfi, 5.5.71-2). Examine the ways in which your two chosen texts present the ideas of free will, fate and destiny. To what extent are individuals responsible for their own destinies?.