The Student Room Group

Tooth extraction due to abscess

Hi, I’m new to the student room and would never normally post but I’m terrified of having my tooth removed.
Around 6/7 years ago part of my tooth broke off of my molar and it required a deep filling to repair it. My dentist seemed to believe the tooth must have had a weakness when it pushed through as there was no apparent signs of tooth decay and the rest of my teeth were fine. I was made aware that the tooth would most likely die and I would have to decide wether to have it extracted or go through root canal in the future but I didn’t think at the time as I was around 14 and didn’t even know what root canal was 😂
Anyway a few months ago I noticed a slight swelling and pain in the gum around my tooth and me being an idiot and terrified of the dentist decided to wait until the last minute to go. I managed to get an appointment the friday before lockdown started and the dentist confirmed there was an abscess there. She told me that it was either root canal or extraction however the anatomy of my teeth would make root canal rather difficult so I decided on extraction (root canal was also a lot more expensive as I’m private)
My dentist has reopened and luckily as I had pending treatment I’m down as a priority so I can get the tooth extraction soon (waiting for them to confirm a date) however I’m terrified!!
The situation with the coronavirus has made me even more nervous as my regular dentist isn’t currently working (I’ve had her my whole life) so I’m having to have the other dentist perform the procedure. I’ve spoken to him on the phone which made me feel less nervous however he made me aware that he may have to leave parts of the roots in my mouth due to the shape of them!
I’m also worried about the gap, Before the lockdown I was told my wisdom tooth could possibly push my back molar into the gap however it’s come through during lockdown so I guess there’s no chance of the gap closing!