Told I wouldn’t be accepted for a PGDE - should I give up? Success stories wanted!

Watch
gemness88
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hi! Sorry for any formatting issues I’m new here.

I’ve been working in a different career for 8+ years and it’s just not what I want to do for the rest of my life. To be honest, I fell into accidentally post-uni and have never liked it. I have a literature degree and I would love to go back to university and do a PGDE to teach secondary school, I believe I would be really good at it (although I appreciate just because I think that doesn’t mean it’s true).

I know I need a National 5 C/GSCE C in Maths to apply, which I don’t currently have, so I found a few courses that I could earn that qualification with and emailed what would have been my first choice university to ask if any of them would be accepted as an equivalent, along with a little bit of my background (which could have been my undoing, in hindsight).

I’ve just received an email response. I appreciate it’s a busy time, and I wasn’t expecting a particularly in-depth email, yes or no would have sufficed, but my question wasn’t even answered. However the person responding HAS responded to the fact I have a 2:2 honours degree and said that ‘this would not even be considered’.

I would understand if that had been said on the entry requirements online, but the online entry requirements say a 2:2 honours degree in a relevant subject to the one you want to teach (in my case, English).

I feel so defeated and mortified, quite frankly. This is what I want to do, but there’s not really the opportunity for me to redo university again to get a 2:1. I know it’s competitive and I’ve probably been naive but is this a dead end for me?

Has anyone else successfully managed to get on a PGDE with a 2:2?
Last edited by gemness88; 2 weeks ago
bluebeetle
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago