The Student Room Group

At university

Hello, just a quick question: What is your usual timetable at university? Like do you start your lesson at 9:00 am and finish at 6:00 pm. Can someone tell me more about it?

Thank you :smile:
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by Kubsyy
Hello, just a quick question: What is your usual timetable at university? Like do you start your lesson at 9:00 am and finish at 6:00 pm. Can someone tell me more about it?

Hi @Kubsyy,

I'm in my second year at UEA and in my experience, it depends on the modules, course, and what year! So because my course isn't that practical, I usually have between 6 to 8 hours of 'contact' each week so normally 3 lectures and 2 seminars. But that was much less in first year! They can range any time, but most are at a decent time so 11 or 1 and sometimes I have ones back to back. But I've never had more than 4/5 hours of teaching in a day before, but most medics would disagree with that! I do a lot more reading which makes up for my less teaching, so I probably do around 10 hours a week of reading/coursework in my own time.

Any other questions, feel free to ask!

Becca
Original post by Kubsyy

That depends on your subject. If you take a science or engineering topic then expect to have daily lectures in the morning - typically 2-3 one hour lectures. Every afternoon you will have labs - 3 hours of laboratory work every day except Wednesdays (sporting sessions run on Wednesday afternoons).