Struggling to understand Judicial Controls on Delegated Legislation

Watch
Graceken99xx
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi guys I’m studying a level law with the open college and I’m really struggling to understand Judicial Controls on Delegated Legislation I understand that it’s passed onto the courts if parliament can’t deal with it (for example a government minister is creating legislation statutory instruments that were never intended by parliament) I then get stuck on what the court then do? I’ve gone through all YouTube videos I have an AQA Law revision book but the answer is unclear? I just want to know judicial controls on delegated legislation please can someone help thank you
Catherine1973
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
we did a whole chunk on delegated legislation on our degree course plus the courts review of it (this was under judicial review) - judges can review decisions made under delegated legislation (by ministers or councils for example) when the public bring a case disputing a decision.

then they consider whether the process was fair and whether the decision was not TOTALLY UNREASONABLE (Wednesday unreasonableness). they do not change the decision BUT can send the decision back to the decision maker to review (which may mean same outcome but the processs to decide is now fair) (and fairness breaks down into a few things like bias and procedural improprietary)

this was a useful summary.

https://assets.publishing.service.go...S-OCT-2018.pdf
Graceken99xx
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
THANK YOU!!! That is the exact type of information I needed to understand!!!! Thank you so much
Arkansas
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Graceken99xx)