Foundation degree or Access course

Watch
Sjtho52
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I am hoping to study Nursing September 2021. I am a mature student and currently working as a bank HCA. I am unsure whether to do an Access course or a Foundation degree. Are there disadvantages/ advantages to either. I will need to carry on working so which one is likely to give me most opportunity to work? Is one cheaper to fund than the other? Thanks
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Sjtho52)
I am hoping to study Nursing September 2021. I am a mature student and currently working as a bank HCA. I am unsure whether to do an Access course or a Foundation degree. Are there disadvantages/ advantages to either. I will need to carry on working so which one is likely to give me most opportunity to work? Is one cheaper to fund than the other? Thanks
In nearly all cases I tell people to do an access course.

1. Cheaper as the loan is written off if you finish the degree..
2. When you start the degree you will start with everyone else (although you may be talking foundation year and not degree as stated.
3. Funding comes from FE pot of money and not HE. which is limited.
4. You will be able to ad access same time as working, although a push.
Tw1x
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by 999tigger)
In nearly all cases I tell people to do an access course.

1. Cheaper as the loan is written off if you finish the degree..
2. When you start the degree you will start with everyone else (although you may be talking foundation year and not degree as stated.
3. Funding comes from FE pot of money and not HE. which is limited.
4. You will be able to ad access same time as working, although a push.
This
National Careers Service
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 days ago
(Original post by Sjtho52)