Should I do a masters because there’s no job due to Covid-19

Watch
Quiet Benin
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I am on the brink of thinking back of going to university at the old age of my mid 20s

I don’t wanna do it, but I can’t stand this lifestyle, having no friends, no job, family looking at you like a **** makes it worse too

So I’m asking should I return to my old uni in September to waste a masters until a vaccine can be found. Positives is that I don’t have to move out (this is a positive for the family to continue bullying me) because lectures will be online and because I studied my bachelors there, I get a discount on fees

Only negative is, it’s a waste of time for me and it’s unlikely I will ever get a job because of mental health issues, only thinking of going because of covid’s second wave, no jobs and I need to get out of the house more

Anyone having the same thought as me?
Tom.Nook
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Hey! It doesn't sound like you particularly want to do a masters, I'd probably advise doing one just for the sake of it because your heart won't be in it and it's unlikely you'll complete it. Unless you have cash to burn, it'd also be a waste of money and there's no point doing it if you don't think it'll further your career.

I'm sorry to hear you're struggling with mental health problems. If you're only thinking about doing a masters to 'get you out the house more', perhaps you could do some other stuff like volunteering? I'm doing some volunteering work at the moment after I lost my job. There's also lots of industries that do need workers at the moment. Try to give a bit of structure to your day or sign up for some online free short courses to keep you busy, but definitely don't sign up for a masters as a spur of the moment decision because you're bored now, you'll probably regret it later.
mike23mike
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Quiet Benin)