The Student Room Group
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield

Sheffield Uni

Hi I’ve accepted an offer to study engineering with a foundation year at Sheffield. I’ve never actually costed Sheffield in person.

I’m looking for accommodation big really like the uni ones, I’d prefer my own studio/flat/apartment. Does anyone know of any good ones close to uni, or know what areas I should be looking in. I’d like a good area, close to uni.
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield
Reply 2
They have a studio but it’s priced at like £234 per week
Hi!

I've lived in Uni city accommodation in my first year (Allen Court) in an Ensuite room. I only had to share the kitchen with my flatmates but otherwise, I had my own bathroom and everything else. I chose to live in Allen Court specifically since my department was literally 2 minutes away from my accommodation so I chose convenience over anything else because I'm lazy haha! I'm studying Materials Science and Engineering here so the Engineering departments are extremely close to Uni city accommodations like Broad Lane and Allen Court.

If you would prefer to live somewhere else in a studio, I'd suggest you to look around the area near 'The Diamond.' The Diamond is the main Engineering building so you would have most of your labs and lectures there thus you can look for some studio accommodation around that area.

I think here you can see the different types of rooms available at the Uni and they have 360-degree virutal tours too: https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/accommod.../undergraduate
You can also contact the accommodation team if you have any further specific queries: [email protected]

Please feel free to ask me anything else too! :biggrin:

-Sanchari
Is Sheffield as a city diverse? And Muslims and black people? I just don’t want to feel as if I’m the only one-
Original post by Anonymous
Is Sheffield as a city diverse? And Muslims and black people? I just don’t want to feel as if I’m the only one-

Yes it is😊