How to be a veterinary nurse with bad gcses

Watch
Curomiii
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
GCSEs when ugh for me. With a bad situation at home that is still on going and having my 59 year old grandma die from cancer along with bullying at school I'm surprised I got a 4 in maths a 5 in English and a 5 in science.
I'm currently studying art but I don't feel happy.
I want to get into veterinary nursing as im an animal lover and I feel it'll help me get away from my parents.
Whenever I look online I see veterinary nursing assistant agree but u need good GCSEs to even get in the course.
Any suggests on where to start, what things I need to do and how to sign up to them will be much appreciated
harrysbar
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Curomiii)
GCSEs when ugh for me. With a bad situation at home that is still on going and having my 59 year old grandma die from cancer along with bullying at school I'm surprised I got a 4 in maths a 5 in English and a 5 in science.
I'm currently studying art but I don't feel happy.
I want to get into veterinary nursing as im an animal lover and I feel it'll help me get away from my parents.
Whenever I look online I see veterinary nursing assistant agree but u need good GCSEs to even get in the course.
Any suggests on where to start, what things I need to do and how to sign up to them will be much appreciated
Your GCSEs seem ok for some unis although to do a vet nursing degree you will probably need A levels including Biology. Would that be an option for you?

https://www.mdx.ac.uk/courses/underg...nursing-degree
vetstudent123
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I would definitely recommend getting some experience at vet clinics and other animal placements such as farms, stables and kennels. This will not only be beneficial (maybe even required?) for your applications, but it will also make sure you know what the industry is like - being an animal lover is not always enough.