Will stating that I am gay affect me getting into good unis?

Watch
maddierm
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I have just turned 16 and I am starting sixth form in September, I’m just beginning to think about university which I will most likely start in 2022. I identify as a lesbian and I know a lot of application forms ask your sexual orientation. I am wondering if saying that I am gay will damage, increase or not affect my chances of getting into a good university? (I am thinking about Oxford but I’m not sure I’ll get in, Durham and York are two others I am considering).

I don’t know what the best option to choose is: Lesbian, prefer not to say, or heterosexual (although choosing the last one would be a lie).

Sorry if this is a silly question, I’m new here and I don’t really know how to use the website properly.
Last edited by maddierm; 1 week ago
bluemuffin
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I think it’s unlikely to affect your chances of getting in. You could always select “prefer not to say” if in doubt though
Sam.C.Mat
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Do university application forms really ask minors to reveal their sexual orientation?
That seems inappropriate and unnecessary (and other negative words)
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by maddierm)
I have just turned 16 and I am starting sixth form in September, I’m just beginning to think about university which I will most likely start in 2022. I identify as a lesbian and I know a lot of application forms ask your sexual orientation. I am wondering if saying that I am gay will damage, increase or not affect my chances of getting into a good university? (I am thinking about Oxford but I’m not sure I’ll get in, Durham and York are two others I am considering).

I don’t know what the best option to choose is: Lesbian, prefer not to say, or heterosexual (although choosing the last one would be a lie).