Want more information about this university?

Lancaster Uni, Townhouse or Regular Halls?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Was just wondering what Lancaster students recommend, thanks for the replies.
Lancaster Student Ambassador
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Was just wondering what Lancaster students recommend, thanks for the replies.
Hi Anonymous,

I'm a first year student at Lancaster and this year I've been staying in Superior Ensuite accommodation.

I think it really depends what kind of person you are, and what you hope to get out of your living experience. Townhouses are known as being a very sociable type of accommodation, so if you'd like to live with a large group of people, (and wouldn't mind starting socials in your house!), then it's probably for you!

I personally chose Superior Ensuite accommodation because I wanted my own bathroom, which was very important to me. In the townhouses, you'll share a bathroom with another person of the same sex as you, and everyone I know in townhouses has said that it's absolutely fine and not a problem. Also, I know everyone who wasn't in townhouse accommodation was extremely jealous of the large amount of social space!

The factors I'd consider when choosing townhouses over other accommodation are:
-The social factor (you'll be living with a larger group of people, have a larger social living space, etc)
-The cost (townhouses are cheaper than ensuites and Superior Ensuites, and more expensive than standard - find out more here)
-College choice: only Grizedale and County offer townhouses. Would these colleges suit you in terms of their location, ethos, etc?
-Whether or not you're happy to share a bathroom.
-Cleaning: townhouses don't get a cleaner for communal areas, whereas other accommodations do.
-Townhouses have bigger bedrooms due to the lack of shared bathroom (but, similarly, so does Standard Accommodation).