CandyAngel1
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 days ago
Hi all! I am a social work student and could really do with your opinions on how you believe your mental health is affected by social media use for my dissertation. Do you feel it has a negative impact? Have you experienced cyberbullying, do you compare yourself to others online with regards to your appearance, abilities or social life, or do you find it hard to stop checking for messages or posts and therefore find it difficult to shut down and relax? Has social media contributed to low self-esteem, anxiety or depression? Or maybe you feel it has had a positive impact it that it allows you to make social connections and find support, allows you to be creative or to develop new knowledge.

Please please help! If you could also add your age to your posts as this would be really helpful.

Many thanks up front!
Stuntman_82
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 days ago
I think social media is not all bad depending on how often you use it. Like I saw an improvement in my mood when I cut the time I used on social media (can check app usage time on phone) to about 1 hour a day (this goes for things like instagram, facebook, snapchat combined). It also depends on what kind of social media you use such as reddit vs facebook (reddit had less of an affect than facebook when I cut down on it).
Tash8790
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 days ago
(Original post by CandyAngel1)