Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 18 hours ago
Hi everyone,

Just a quick question about the BASc (Arts & Sciences) - is it possible to change your major and/or minor pathway midway through the course?

I'm a prospective student.

It might be quicker to ask UCL themselves, but if someone here is a current or ex-BASc student, I figure you might also be able to help me out and potentially have more info than UCL about e.g. students you know who have switched.

Thanks
Chemistry_Queen
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 9 hours ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi everyone,

Just a quick question about the BASc (Arts & Sciences) - is it possible to change your major and/or minor pathway midway through the course?

I'm a prospective student.

It might be quicker to ask UCL themselves, but if someone here is a current or ex-BASc student, I figure you might also be able to help me out and potentially have more info than UCL about e.g. students you know who have switched.

Thanks
I doubt it - you can probably change pretty easily within the first 3/4 weeks, but after that it would be very hard as you'd be so behind. I don't know for certain but I'd say midway through the course is probably a no unfortunately. Are you unsure about which to choose?
anchorheart
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 minute ago
Hey,
Ex-BAScer here. You might be able to switch around your major and minor depending on what modules you take in 2nd year + if you fulfil all the prerequisites to make sure you can take enough advanced modules. However, usually anyone who changes pathway does so in the first couple of weeks of 1st year.
It has been done before but it's not recommended and you need to have a very good reason for doing so / demonstrate that you are committed to it. It's also easier to switch between Cultures and Societies than to pivot completely from say Cultures to Sciences and Eng (unless as mentioned you just flip your major/minor around).