Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Has anyone here studied more than one language at the same time? I am currently studying abroad in France. I started French here from scratch after taking two semesters of Italian back home in the US. When I return to the US, I would liike to continue both French and Italian. Do you think it would be too confusing to study them both at the same time? My major is Linguistics and I am going to minor in French. I am not minoring in Italian, but just want to learn more of it.

What do you think?

ReputationRep:
    that depends, considering that both languages come from latin you might get some similarities (as in structure of sentences and so on) so I guess that if you're good with languages (which I'm assuming you are, what with taking linguistics and all) that it might not be that hard, then again it might get confusing...

ReputationRep:
    I take French and German for A-level at the minute, and have been learning Spanish just as a leisure course, and I don't mix the languages up, so...! Suppose it just depends on you, but I think most people cope alright with more than one foreign language.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, doing more than one language is fine. I am currently learning French, Italian, Mandarin and Esperanto. Don't ask why I'm doing so many, I just love languages!! The more languages the better!

ReputationRep:
    Yeah - i'm doing french and german at uni - and no, it's not confusing. The only thing I would warn people about is that it is often difficult to dedicate equal amounts of time to each language - i have a tendency of doing a lot of indeoendent language work for french when i really ought to spend more time on my german............But hope it works out for you, chuck!

ReputationRep: