scene.parade
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am currently studying chemistry AQA, and I have heard that A level exam boards are specific in the way the exam questions are answered , almost word for word, and would like some clarity.

Does this mean that summarising or paraphrasing information from textbooks is incorrect - as it will give the answer in a differently worded way. Or does it mean you have to summarises the notes but exactly the way the textbook/revision guide states?

I shall give an example. If the mark scheme states 'the properties of compounds are different from the properties of the original elements.' However, I wrote 'compounds have properties that differ from its elements.'

It has left me a bit confused as to whether summarising and paraphrasing the textbooks/revision guides may be incorrect for the exam- even if it helps me better to understand the concepts.
TheVirtualPhoton
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I found that doing past papers and looking at the mark schemes (both available on the AQA website) really helped me learn and practice what would get the marks.
I believe that they look for specific words/words that mean the same. I would say that, for your example, the mark scheme would underline 'different' in its mark scheme and give a mark to anyone who got that idea across. So although they're not looking for a word-for-word paragraph, there will be certain ideas, words and phrases in there that are needed for the marks.
Wal123
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by scene.parade)
I am currently studying chemistry AQA, and I have heard that A level exam boards are specific in the way the exam questions are answered , almost word for word, and would like some clarity.