Volg Paterson
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
I have never tried this before and wanted to be productive this quarantine. My goal is to learn German and avoid spending money, If I need to, I will.

Where do I start and once I have learnt the basics, how do I progress onward?
How much time should I spending on what everyday?
I heard apps like duo lingo are good for basics but they aren't good in the long term for things like pronunciation, thoughts?
Any good resources/books?

Those are a few questions on my mind.

I would be interested in talking to anyone who has learn't German and their struggles.
Last edited by Volg Paterson; 4 months ago
robertgallacher
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I was in a very similar position to you a few months ago, and it seems to be working so I'll go over what I did:

I started with Duolingo to get familiar with the basics, looking up grammar points if necessary, and practising vocab with revision cards. I also bought two GCSE revision guides so I could measure how well I was doing and to get a simple explanation of the grammar and a few topic areas for the vocabulary. I'm currently working through this, and after that I should be able to practice reading some simpler texts, and then I can hopefully improve through immersion and more complicated grammar books.

Hope this helps
babyshark
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
hi! so i studied German at GCSE and have continued in my own time.

for basics use DuoLingo! it’s easy and you’ll be able to pick up the basics in no time! From here, you can look at websites such as Memrise or Seneca! These go more in depth into the language so you’ll advance your vocab!

As for pronunciation and getting used to hearing the language, I suggest watching some films or tv shoes in German. It sounds silly, but you’ll get used to hearing the language and the accents and ultimately this will improve your language skills.