Refused braces on the NHS, over 18 now. What can I do?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi,

I am a 20 year old student now. I was referred to an orthodontist and recommended braces at quite a young age, but the orthodontist shut down before I was able to get them. I was then referred to a different orthodontist - this was around the time NHS regulations around braces were made stricter. If I remember correctly, I was classed as a borderline case and refused them. Since I was quite young, I didn't think to question it or get a second opinion. At the time, my father even mentioned they were being racist. Of course, this can't be proven, but I wouldn't be suprised if it was a factor.

I'm pretty sure I should have got them on the NHS. My teeth are bad, and I've been noticing problems with my bite. My dentist agrees I should have qualified. I know she isn't an orthodontist, but anyone can see I need braces when they look at my teeth.

Is there anything I can do now? I am not from a wealthy background so private treatment is a difficult option. Even a subsidised cost would be better than no help.

It's just very frustrating seeing people with teeth much better than mine qualify for treatment on the NHS, or people who don't qualify get it for free because they have contacts.

Thanks.
Ciel.
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi,

I am a 20 year old student now. I was referred to an orthodontist and recommended braces at quite a young age, but the orthodontist shut down before I was able to get them. I was then referred to a different orthodontist - this was around the time NHS regulations around braces were made stricter. If I remember correctly, I was classed as a borderline case and refused them. Since I was quite young, I didn't think to question it or get a second opinion. At the time, my father even mentioned they were being racist. Of course, this can't be proven, but I wouldn't be suprised if it was a factor.