My year abroad got cancelled - feeling lost

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi. I haven't been able to talk to anyone about this yet and I thought here would be the right place. I'm wondering if anyone else feels the same way as me right now.
I was meant to be going to Japan in September. I got into a uni in Tokyo and I was overjoyed. I got a job when I was 14, back when Japan was just a pipe dream, all to be able to pay for my year abroad. I was unable to do a GCSE/A-level in Japanese due to being in an underprivileged environment, so I spent the next four years studying things I didn't want to study in order to do it at uni. I studied, I worked, and I taught myself what little Japanese I could at the time.

And now it means nothing.

Some people have said to me "oh it's okay, just defer a year!" and I thought that too. I thought, 'it's fine, I've waited six years for this, I can wait 9 or so months.' But my uni have turned around to the students on the Korean pathway who have had their year abroad taken from them and said they can't defer a year bc "they don't have enough funding" which is a flat out lie. My uni is currently spending millions updating the uni, and has thousands of international students that come to our uni from all over the world. The amount of people at my uni doing a year abroad is TINY in comparison to the amount of international students that come in. I know the Japanese department is next, and I'm so so so upset and lost and my life feels wasted. My entire teen years was spent chasing a dream that will never happen.