Uni with BTEC and self-taught Alevel

Watch
Maliaishere
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So I'm currently doing BTEC Level 3 IT. And I really want to get into Durham university. The entry requirements for Durham are D*DD and A in alevel maths. I'm planning on self teaching studying Alevel maths to get into Durham as my college doesn't teach ALevels. I'm going to be taking my exam around may or June next year (2021) in a local exam center.

Now I'm really confused on how the whole process is going to be like. my ucas application for uni needs to be done by January 2021, and we all know that you apply for your 5 unis based on what your predicted grades are. I'm not fussed about my BTEC grades because I got a D in pretty much all of my units and I feel like if I try hard enough I can get a D*DD. What I'm worried about is my Alevel Maths prediction.
How do I put down Durham as my first choice if I don't even have a predicted grade for Alevel maths? Won't they reject me on the spot because I don't have an Alevel prediction? Should I just give up my hopes in getting into Durham?

I don't know what to do, I would really appreciate it if you could help me out!
robertgallacher
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I don't see why they should reject you on the spot, but what may be worth looking into is sitting the TMUA. It is recommended for Maths applicants, but if you can succeed on the TMUA, then that will show good evidence of Maths ability. Also, just because your college doesn't offer it, it doesn't mean it would be impossible to get a predicted grade. It may be possible to see if you can get a teacher to see any work you've done and give you a predicted grade based on that.

Link for TMUA information:
https://www.admissionstesting.org/fo...ity-admission/
Maliaishere
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by robertgallacher)