deep_learning
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
So, I'm a postgrad. Computer Science is my speciality. Trying to get into the industry is going to be hard. Is teaching in secondary schools worth it? Would pupils as young as 13-16 even want to learn or be interested?
parii_xd
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Computer science is very interesting. As a secondary school student, I'd be interested and would enjoy the lessons.
barnetlad
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Teaching is worthwhile, but I'd be concerned if you see it as a last resort option. That you would not be in it for the best of motives, or that you would not stay in teaching very long.
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by MisterFortnite)
So, I'm a postgrad. Computer Science is my speciality. Trying to get into the industry is going to be hard. Is teaching in secondary schools worth it? Would pupils as young as 13-16 even want to learn or be interested?
I love teaching but would not encourage anyone who sees it as 'a last resort' to train.

You need to be passionate about your subject and supporting young people in their learning
Get into Teaching
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Hello MisterFortnite

In my experience, all young people do want to learn, and when presented with concepts in a way that they are able to access then they are interested. Teaching is an exciting and enjoyable profession, but is not an easy one. It demands passion and commitment from the teacher, as any apathy on a teachers part will result in boring lessons and a lack of interest in the learning!

If you'd like to explore your options of getting into teaching then register here.

All the best in whatever you choose to do!

Jane
Kerzen
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago