The Student Room Group

Need GCSE results, but can't get them off OCR. Anyone else?

Hi just wondering if anyone else is having this problem.
I have a place on a BSc adult nursing course but the uni is insisiting on seeing proof of my English GCSE. Ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem but I need to order it from OCR and they're not able to do this for people who took their exams before 2000, I'm 1998.
I've contacted the uni and told them all this and asked if they could consider my access course/previous degree (with eng lit as minor) or my functional skills level 2 in english. They said no.

I wondered if any other mature students were in the same boat? And how you may have got round this? I feel like I may end up missing out on a course I've put a lot of effort and time into getting on
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by Purplesonney
Hi just wondering if anyone else is having this problem.
I have a place on a BSc adult nursing course but the uni is insisiting on seeing proof of my English GCSE. Ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem but I need to order it from OCR and they're not able to do this for people who took their exams before 2000, I'm 1998.
I've contacted the uni and told them all this and asked if they could consider my access course/previous degree (with eng lit as minor) or my functional skills level 2 in english. They said no.

I wondered if any other mature students were in the same boat? And how you may have got round this? I feel like I may end up missing out on a course I've put a lot of effort and time into getting on

Why cant they do it pre 2000? What do they expect people to do? You can't be the only one in such a situation.
Are you certain OCR are the board?
https://www.gov.uk/replacement-exam-certificate
I phoned OCR and before 2000 results have to be found manually, but after 2000 they're stored electronically. Due to the corona virus OCR employees are working from home and can only access results saved digitally.