Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am new to the student room so hello to all.

I am looking for some advice to help me make a decision.

I am currently doing an apprenticeship as an electrician and I am about to start my 3rd year. I decided to do this instead of University after a year out working, and decided to do this because i liked the idea of earning money while training.

But after 2 years at my current job the novelty has worn off and i really dont enjoy it, and generally the salary after qualifying is only £22000 (before tax), which i though was a great deal of money when at the time I was only earning £150 a week.

I am thinking about the idea of going to university after I have finished my apprenticeship, but face the problem of leaving a job, which i could make a career, to go back into education.

Also, I cant decide if I should do a degree in electrical engineering or electrical power systems or something similar to further what I will have or start again with something else, business or media because I dont enjoy being an electrician.

My (scottish higher) grades are

English - B
    Music - B
    Art - B
    Graphic Communication - C
    (Geography - D )

Another problem I face is that at the moment I am 20 years old, and will be 21(at least) by the time I finish training, which will make me a lot older than the majority of people starting at the same time as me.

Help please

Sorry its such a long post, haha.

Steven

ReputationRep:
    Go to uni, if you decide you don't enjoy it when you get there, you still have the experience and qualifications from your apprenticeship to fall back on.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by stevengeelan)
    Hi,

I am currently doing an apprenticeship as an electrician and I am about to start my 3rd year. I decided to do this instead of University after a year out working, and decided to do this because i liked the idea of earning money while training.