Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Is this normal?

I’m a final year med student.
Anonymous3245
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Probably. To them you’re just a student. And surgeons all have a god complex anyways so...p
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Nnahahahah)
Is this normal?

Wrong forum, I'll get it moved.

Don't take it personally, they even ignore their junior doc sometimes.
Anonymous3245
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Why are you doing one thread about feeling ignored and another criticising those with more experience? That’s probably why they ignore you. They know what they’re doing.
Nnahahahah
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
How am I criticising? I literally stood in the corner of a lap Chole today. I introduced myself to everyone but the surgeon didn’t even look at me once ://
ecolier
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
How am I criticising? I literally stood in the corner of a lap Chole today. I introduced myself to everyone but the surgeon didn’t even look at me once ://
This can happen, and it's not just surgeons. Physicians do it too. It's ok - make a note of what you observed and if you have any Qs then ask the registrar or another consultant who's more receptive.
Chief Wiggum
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Yeah, sounds pretty normal.
Democracy
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Is this normal?

Pretty much. Surgical ward rounds aren't known for being chatty occasions.

This is the classic med student on general surgery experience. Next stop: getting grilled on pre-clinical anatomy
Last edited by Democracy; 3 weeks ago
Jckc123
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
sounds normal to me.

even as a junior F1 looking after surgical patients, the surgeons would even ignore questions relating to patient care or brush it aside.
I just ask the reg most of the time.
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
£210 per day per student #valueformoney
ahorey
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago