Nnahahahah
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Feel a bit weird and singled out. What does it mean to be called a boss? Do I look old? Is there something wrong with me? I’m a student btw.
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Nnahahahah)
Feel a bit weird and singled out. What does it mean to be called a boss? Do I look old? Is there something wrong with me? I’m a student btw.
Sorry if I am wrong, I assume that junior doctor is Asian. I get called boss by other doctors in my grade a lot...

https://www.quora.com/Indian-English-How-is-boss-used

It could be tricky for a non-Indian to understand the term “Boss”, as it can be used in slightly different contexts. It could be used while talking in English or Hinglish.

Among friends, it could be used as a synonym for “Buddy” or “Mate”, especially when you are debating something with a friend and you want to make a counterpoint. You could hear the counterpoint like this “No no Boss, let me explain how it works”.It could be used by someone in a corporate setting while talking to his subordinate or junior, just as a friendly gesture.

It would go something like “Boss, why don’t you and him get together and sort it out”. On the same lines, if you are stuck in some work, let’s say in a Government department, and need the clerk to help you expedite it, you could be polite and friendly by saying “Boss, can you please help me get this done”.More commonly, it’s used by a subordinate while talking to or describing his actual Boss. It would go something like “Boss, can you approve my travel request”.

Sometimes in Government departments, this could be a bit more servile. For instance, a subordinate explaining to his colleagues “Boss has mandated it. This absolutely has to be done” or “Yes Boss, consider this work done”.
Last edited by ecolier; 4 weeks ago
Nnahahahah
Rep:
?
He’s white lol
Nnahahahah
Rep:
?
So he’s being low key racist?
ecolier
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago