rachel7423
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
I want to go to Oxford to study fine art, and they require AAA. I am doing art and psychology at a level and I signed up for English lit but I'm dreading it. I just can't imagine myself enjoying it or doing as well- besides, I only picked it because I was good at GCSE. The English language spec seems really interesting, so I am tempted to switch over... will this affect my chances in any way or won't they care?
CeeJayW
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I'm not an expert by any means but I don't think it should have too much of an impact. English literature isn't a requirement to study fine art (i'm assuming)- the only reason English lit might be better is that it's a facilitating subject, although it would be much better for you to get high grades in your subjects which you're more likely to do if you enjoy them, than to do one you don't like.
English language should be okay, especially if you enjoy it!
robertgallacher
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
English Literature is a facilitating subject, so it will likely be viewed more preferably, but if will not be the sole decider in your choice.
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
It’s actually not such a bad strategy to choose your best subjects from gcse, and repeat them for A, especially if you are trying Oxford. You might even consider having extra-school tuition as well.

Lang or Lit? Choose whichever you can sustain for the next two years, check your syllabus carefully, see which subject might be easier to get extra teaching-in, see which books/poems you are expected to read/criticise etc for the courses - can you cope with them?

For example, if your book list includes R&J, you could easily cope, but Anthony&Cleo requires to compare the dichotomy between 'Christian values' and 'Roman values', probably!