Psychology Conversion, D. Clin Psych, and work experience

Watch
ClassicsEd
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Hi Guys,

I am at an early mid-life crisis, I guess, and I want to do something worthwhile and something that I believe in. This is the the type of work that results from the D. in Clinical Psychology. I'm looking for specific feedback from people who know this area and what's required.

Let me say first that I need to do the psychology conversion course but that I'm only interested in doing it if I can get on the Doctorate in Clinical Psychology.

Now let me say a little about myself to explain the context of my concerns. I have a PhD in Philosophy, which I achieved aged 26 four years ago. I did 2 one year post-docs before suddenly finding that I could earn more and have job stability in the financial services, where I've worked for two years. Working in finance was interesting for the first year but has quickly become the most unrewarding and soul-selling thing I could possibly do. It does, however, enable me to support my family with a good income and has that stability academic life in philosophy could not offer.

My turn to Clinical Psychology now is based on the fact that I know it would prove rewarding for me. My PhD in Philosophy was actually on the concept of suffering, and my research has been published in clinical psychology journals. I am au fait with the discipline and know what the job involves.

However, my major problem in doing the psychology conversion course is that I know it won't in itself get me a job outside of financial services that I would enjoy. And more importantly, is that on its own I am doubtful it would get me on a D. Clin Psych course.

I know that work experience is required for course, but because I am the bread winner for my family I don't think its possible for me to give up my job. Even funding for the D. Clin Psych comes at a salary drop, but that I can do.