The-judge-16
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I’m really unsure whether to do a degree in psychology as I’ve heard that finding a job upon graduation after a Bsc is pretty much impossible, and also the salary is not too great? Also could I transfer into msc or phd in neuroscience after doing a Bsc in psychology, or would I need to do neuroscience/biology Bsc?

What are your thoughts?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
xoxAngel_Kxox
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I did a psychology degree and loved it. Wouldn't change it for the world, BUT I'm not using it in my career now, at all. I loved the course, the tutors, the friends I met .. but ultimately my life would be the same career wise (in fact I'd be three years further into it!) if I hadn't done it at all.

If you have a specific job in mind, make sure you're aware of the exact path you'll need to take to get there. Most students are surprised when they graduate and realise that there are still almost zero psychology related jobs available to them without further training. That said, the degree opens lots of doors to graduate schemes. But it depends exactly what you want.

Do plenty of research to help you weigh up your options .
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Career prospects outside of specific roles (mainly clinical psychology roles, which require a great deal of graduate training anyway) which require a psychology degree will be the same as for any other degree.