Anon2308
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I was a mature student when I started university. My A levels weren't great and I didn't want to go to uni. Then after 3 years I decided to go and have loved my course. I already know what I want to do for my Master's and have found a supervisor at Cambridge, however I don't know if I'm smart enough! I will hopefully get at least a 2:1 at uni, borderline 1st but I am unsure if I will pass at a top level university. Has anyone been in a similar situation where they don't know they're good enough?
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Anon2308)
I was a mature student when I started university. My A levels weren't great and I didn't want to go to uni. Then after 3 years I decided to go and have loved my course. I already know what I want to do for my Master's and have found a supervisor at Cambridge, however I don't know if I'm smart enough! I will hopefully get at least a 2:1 at uni, borderline 1st but I am unsure if I will pass at a top level university. Has anyone been in a similar situation where they don't know they're good enough?
That's the experience of pretty much all applicants and offer holders to Cambridge - the aura of the name is powerful - the truth is very different. At Masters level there's very little comparison of grades etc. I'm a current mature student, and I have no idea how my grades compare with others, we don't discuss it. And, perhaps because of my perspective as a mature student, when I listen to someone say something in class and think either 'Blimey, how come they don't understand that' or 'Blimey, why don't I understand that?' I know it's pretty much because of the diversity of our backgrounds. There are aspects of my course that I struggle with and other aspects I find easy - because I've missed/forgotten some things because of my academic background and I've got strengths because of my experience.