Badges: 20
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Which is better?
- in terms of assessment methods
- facilities
- destinations of students etc
- teaching
- study guides
So far i have a scholarship from one and none from the other - still trying to decide as I have a few weeks left to decide
The University of Law Students
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm not sure one should be viewed as better than the other but it is true that the two providers differ in certain regards. I studied the GDL at ULaw and the exams were 3 hour closed book exams, some in January and some in June. I believe that BPP assesses all modules at once at the end of the academic year. This was the case when I studied the GDL (2018/2019).

In terms of facilities, I can speak from my experience studying at ULaw at the Leeds campus. The library has a great selection of resources, and also has many computers as well as desk space. On the top floor there is a cafe area which also has rows of computers so makes for an additional, informal study space. There is also the student services team, a careers team who are great at helping with applications, CVs, pro bono etc, as well as a welfare team. ULaw also have a great many resources which are available to you through their online portal.

'Destination' of students is very similar with both, what you will find is that BPP and ULaw have unique partnerships with different city firms, so students who secure training contracts before they start the course might not get the choice of where to study the GDL/LPC. Ultimately both have good if not equal reputations with employers, as the two biggest providers.