"i can only cope with listening to you practice certain instruments" Watch

beautifulbigmacs
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
omg i massively need to rant

i do a lot of rants on other websites..i shall try my v best to curb my language for this one lol

ok so im practicing my recorder grade 1 pieces and i'm doing well even though i say so myself

and my dad's says really irritably "knock that on the head kate" (which is his way of saying "stop playing"

this is massively annoying/upsetting/frustrating for me as a musician who constantly wants to learn new things

because he often asks me if i'll go an play the piano for him..he likes listening to that.

but when i practice the instruments that i'm still learning on (so thus have a smaller repetorie and it sounds more like a practice than a preformance), i sense that he gets really cheesed off: so i have this problem with all the things that aren't piano: always with violin and recorder and occasionally with sax because i'm not so good as i used to be. And singing is something i never do infront of my parents because I'm builiding up my confidence with that one but i don't want it knocked by being told to shup up...plus i don't like to show emotion in from of my folks (long story lol)

so yeah, i equate it to be as good as saying "i'll support you to play an instrument, but only so long as it's one i want you to do"

in fairness, my folks have put a lot of money, time, transport and interest into my music education in many respects but this has really offended me and hurt my feelings, as i said to him "i used to sound ****** at piano, you can't be instantly good at something"

goddamnit!!! instrumental prejudice or what?!?!!?

i would imagine that so many people quit because people don't give them the confidence in practice, to allow the person to be "bad" at the instrument, knowing that it's all part of the process..gggrrrr such ignorance!!