My apprenticeship journey so far. Cyber Security Level 4 Apprenticeship as next step?

Watch
placeintime
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
After A-levels I went to uni and graduated with a law degree (2:1) in 2017. I worked in the legal field for around a year doing paralegal work before deciding I wanted a change to IT.

I applied for level 3 apprenticeships in IT and got on to an Infrastructure Technician apprenticeship in March 2019, while employed as a Service Desk Apprentice at a company. Due to COVID-19 I've been made redundant this month, but I'm due to finally complete my apprenticeship by next month the latest. I'm hoping for a Distinction.

I've decided I want to continue on the apprenticeship path and do a level 4 apprenticeship in cyber security, as opposed to applying for service desk jobs or related. Both areas interest me but cyber security seems like the field I want to end up in. If anyone has any advice on the best way I can go about doing this, that would be great! I've reached out to a few training providers enquiring about the level 4 apprenticeship programme (within London), but cyber security vacancies seem to be few and far between. Also, if anyone has any advice or experience with this apprenticeship I'd love to hear from you!
Last edited by placeintime; 2 weeks ago
Sammm__
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Level 4 Cyber Security apprenticeships are hard to come by. They're normally level 6. It might be best to look into alternative Level 4's (Network engineering, software engineering being closely related) so in the future you can do a level 6 Security apprenticeship.
OptiWeight
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by placeintime)
After A-levels I went to uni and graduated with a law degree (2:1) in 2017. I worked in the legal field for around a year doing paralegal work before deciding I wanted a change to IT.