spqr101
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Salvete omnes! Χαιρετε παντες!

I'm a student currently taking GCSE Latin and Ancient Greek (I'm in Y10 atm). As I'm sure we all are a little miserable with what's going on around the globe at the moment, (plus the weather today is absolutely horrific, where I am at least) I've decided to start this thread where all classics enthusiasts can discuss what they love, from mythology to ancient history and politics, philosophy to book recommendations!

I'm going to make a little post explaining what I love about Classics, book and tv recommendations etc. shortly!
Last edited by spqr101; 2 months ago
spqr101
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
CLASSICS DISCUSSION POST #1

Why do I love Classics? What do I hate about it?
I love Classics because of the many ways in which the ancient world has shaped modern society, whether philosophical, scientific or literary! Mythology is also absolutely fascinating (and also very entertaining), and I think it's so beautiful how many of these ancient stories and tales have remained so relevant over such a wide range of cultures and time periods; I recently wrote a short piece on why the story of Troy has remained so relevant and it was fascinating to explore universal ideas relating to the impermanence of life and horrors of war (I've actually written an article on this on my blog- you can check it out here: https://www.ad-veritatem.com/trojan-war/)
I personally also love Roman politics, just because I find the system so incredibly complex for a society that existed two millennia ago! Finally, Classical languages are brilliant because there is something so satisfying about piecing together the cases, tenses, voices and moods, and don't even get me started on stylistic nuances in literature!!