economics + politics or international business, finance and economics

Watch this thread
anna875
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,
so I am supposed to start IBFE (international business, finance and economics) at uni of Manchester in September whoever I started to have some doubts about the program and I am considering switching to economics and politics. But I am unsure whether this is a right choice. I am not sure which degree gives me better career prospects. I definitely won't be working in UK (I am an international student) and I am unsure in what field I want to work. I kind of started thinking about public affairs/policy, or maybe marketing and media or pr. I just don't know. Oh, and I definitely want to do masters afterwards. What do you guys think

which degree gives me better career prospects with great pay etc?

thanks for the help!
nellybelly29
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
Honestly, I'm not sure there's much of a difference between the two. Both have economics as part of the degree, so as long as that's something you think you'd be interested in going into in the future or as doing for your master's, then both will give you fine prospects. The difference will be what you want to focus on. Are you super interested in IB, finance, and econ and really want to get a breadth of knowledge in those areas? Or would you prefer learning about politics as well as econ?

Essentially, in my (albeit this is personal to me haha) view, I see the two programs as being very similar if you decide to pursue econ in the future. I think it depends on what kinds of other things you want to be learning alongside your econ education.
anna875
Badges: 3
Rep:
Report Thread starter 2 years ago