throwaway2021
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I am a recent physics graduate and I have delayed applying for postgraduate study. Everything is going badly, I really need life advice.

I have always been a bad student - rarely attending lectures, missing every single seminar in some modules, etc. During my first year, I averaged 75% based on my A-level knowledge. I became even more laid back during my second year and ended up averaging 55%. In an attempt to pull my average back up I did some work during my third year - I studied and revised for my exams. I averaged 75% in my exams. There was one problem, I couldn't complete my dissertation in two weeks the same way I studied for my exams.

I have a bad habit of leaving things to the very last minute. I don't know why. Maybe I lack motivation or a work ethic but this is what I do.

I applied to extend my study, in an attempt to complete my dissertation without telling my friends or family. For a year, I worked on personal projects when I was supposed to complete my dissertation. Due to coronavirus, my university placed a safety net and that allowed me to graduate with a 2:1 without really completing my dissertation.

I really want to change. I have read self-help books, I have listened to talks and I have tried to be productive. Unfortunately, I have missed yet another deadline (maybe). I have applied to study physics at Imperial on the application deadline. Today, I recieved a rejection email stating that the course is full.

1) Should I apply to top universities like UCL, King's or Edinburgh to start this year or should I forget about postgraduate study for now and get a job?

2) How can I stop leaving everything last minute?
Luwei
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
1) Why not? If you never try you never know.