Should I do this self-funded PhD in Mathematics?

Watch
Premez
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
I am nearing the end of my Masters in Mathematics at Durham University. It's looking like I shall end up getting a Merit (possibly distinction, but unlikely).

I did my undergraduate degree in Maths & Physics at Durham, and due to various reason I ended up getting a 2:2. A particular Associate Professor (Reader) has shown interest in me since 3rd year and we have a very good relationship, he's my current supervisor, he wants me to do a PhD under him (at Durham), however because of my undergraduate grades, funding is virtually impossible from what I understand (certainly through the university or research councils).

He thinks I should do the self-funded option (i.e. via taking out the SFE loan of £25k and also via working by tutoring undergrads etc).

My PhD would be in pure maths (differential geometry) in an area would I would very much enjoy; however I have the goal of becoming a quant afterwards. I have a very little amount of stats in my background and so I would have to learn the relevant stats and compsci/coding during my PhD in order to be able to apply for quant positions after I graduate.

I would really like to do a PhD, however the self-funding part scares me a little and makes me question if it's the right decision. As well as enjoying the PhD, having this additional qualification would offset the 2:2 at undergrad I imagine?

Thanks in advance...
Last edited by Premez; 5 months ago
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by Premez)
I am nearing the end of my Masters in Mathematics at Durham University. It's looking like I shall end up getting a Merit (possibly distinction, but unlikely).