Questions about BTEC Extended Diploma in Business

Watch
Account4Choices
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hello, this is my first time on here so I apologise if I get anything wrong in advance.

I've got a few questions about this qualification (the new one with exams) as I'm due to start this in September, and my college website barely has any important informstion on it.

1. I've completed Level 2 this year and I had 2 exams: Marketing and Finance. Apparently I'll have these exams at Level 3, is this true?

2. Can I please have an overview of the other 2 external examinations in the 2nd year, as I haven't heard much about them. Apparently, one's about a marketing campaign, but it's not an actual exam paper?

3. I did struggle with the Level 2 Business work at the start as I had never done Level 2 coursework (including GCSEs Maths and English) before. I think I'm going to get D*D*, but my question is, how difficult is Level 3 compared to Level 2?

4. Do you have any tips to succeed on the course?

Thank you
AlastairSampson
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Hi, I took a level 3 extended business diploma for my two years of sixth form and this is what I can tell you -

I'm pretty sure they can change which units are used for external assessments, so it is more than likely you won't do the exact same 2nd year exams I did (as there have been some cases of plagiarism in the past), but this is all I can give you.

1. In the first year you will have one marketing exam and one finance exam, these will both count to your overall grade at the end of the two year course, so don't half-arse them. In my experience, I thought I found the marketing one much easier but then scored higher on the finance, as long as you know the formulas and have a basic understanding of personal and business finance you will pass.