Norus
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I have recently been accepted into a PGCE primary course and want to prep as much as possible for but I don’t know where to begin! I have had lots of experience in primary schools before and am currently tutoring part time but despite my experience I know that actually training to be a teacher will be very different so any advice would be amazing!

What type of stuff should I start looking to buy/prepare? What type of stationary, clothes, equipment, books etc do I need? Are there books I should start reading? Any general advice?

Thank you!
Advertisement
bluebeetle
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
My general advice would be to not overdo it on the preparation, as it's very easy to prepare the wrong thing and waste a bit of time that you should be spending relaxing before what is sure to be an intense year.

That being said, I would make sure you have:
- a decent looking bag that is good for transporting around A4 sized items
- a four colour pen (will likely see a lot of use)
- a sturdy pencil case
- comfortable but appropriate clothes (I'd advise not going overboard on this until you feel like you have a good grasp of what is appropriate attire, just get enough to last a week)
- comfy shoes!!
- something for storing papers (ringbinder folder, expanding folder, whatever you prefer)

If you are going to prepare anything reading-wise, I would recommend focusing on subject knowledge. Think of any subjects that are weak spots for you and brush up on those. You'll have plenty of time on your PGCE to learn about the pedagogical stuff.
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Norus)