Best Way to Increase Vocabulary In Foreign Languages?

Watch
rhhb
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi there, I'm currently studying Italian in school and also French and Spanish at home on my own.

What would you recommend as the best way to expand my vocabulary preferably outside that of typical school curriculum.
redmeercat
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Experience the language as much as you can - watch films, listen to music, and chat to people. Take note of words you don't know, and then try to actively use them in sentences to help you to remember them for longer. Apps like HelloTalk, Lyricstraining and netflix are great for this - for French, films like La Famille Belier and (depending on how old you are, etc) programmes like La Mante are good. In terms of music, maybe Zaz, Louanne, BB Brunes and Stromae, depending on what you like! i also like to listen to podcasts, but some people find it stressful to listen to podcasts when they don't understand everything and also don't have a visual cue. Keeping a diary in the languages and looking up words you don't know can also help - I try to write a weekly update of about 50-100 words in Russian on my HelloTalk profile every week, in which I try to use the vocab and grammar I've learnt that week so that I can clear up any big misconceptions and errors before I move on!
Last edited by redmeercat; 5 months ago
rhhb
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
(Original post by redmeercat)