Studying a masters part time and working full time

Watch
Pongo1
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I've been wanting to do a masters degree for a while now but I have a full-time job and I've always been hesitant about giving it up to study.

I'm wondering whether I can fit a part-time MA around my job. With the covid situation and working from home, and lectures being online at most uni's for at least the first term it actually feels more do-able.

Does anyone here juggle a part-time MA and full-time job? Does it work?

I'm also wondering with part-time course do you have separate classes or do you just attend fewer than the full-time students?
Muserock
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I'm starting a masters degree in September. I plan to work full time and study (doing supply teaching so they'll be times when I might be working less than full time). My masters is all online so I can fit studying around my day.

I did my undergraduate degree online whilst holding down a full time job which was manageable. For that I did one module per semester and I think it will be the same for my masters.

I think how uni's structure their timetable will vary depending on the university and the subject. For the campus students, a lot of the modules are in evenings and weekends to fit around work for the part time students.
Keele University
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Pongo1)
I've been wanting to do a masters degree for a while now but I have a full-time job and I've always been hesitant about giving it up to study.

I'm wondering whether I can fit a part-time MA around my job. With the covid situation and working from home, and lectures being online at most uni's for at least the first term it actually feels more do-able.

Does anyone here juggle a part-time MA and full-time job? Does it work?

I'm also wondering with part-time course do you have separate classes or do you just attend fewer than the full-time students?