Approximate living expenses in UK

Watch
gianca_dlra
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Approximately how much living expenses are due in the following cities as an international student?
-Manchester
-Bristol
-Birmingham
-Sheffield
Including both academical issues and personal lifestyle.
Thank you!
Lobster Guy
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I think you'll find your answers on here.
https://transferwise.com/gb/blog/cos...ving-in-the-uk
Lucerobris
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I can speak for bristol as I am an international student there. Rooms would be £595 for a decent room in Clifton village which is right next to most of the uni buildings. A studio in some student accommodation is around £600-£750 for companies like Vita Student. I was in WaterLane Apartments and was £650 for a single studio. Included wifi, gym, cinema room, etc. Was very nice. Bus rides with the student discount would be like £45 a month? I dont know. I walked everywhere and most students walk everywhere. I always advice getting private accommodation/ studios instead of rooms. Doesnt matter how much it cost, the convenience of privacy and peace of mind should not be on a budget. Food wise is fine, most of the time you can turn up to tesco after 6pm and there are loads of things reduced. Most supermarkets reduce their prices on things going off. But mind those items have a "best before" and "expired" and "display until" all means different. Just yesterday I spent under £2 for a whole loaf of bread, turkey ham, oranges and a pasta pot. All which I can eat for 2/3 days so food can be super cheap! Eating out in Bristol can be super cheap too. 90% of restaurants throughout the city does starter + main course for like under £20. So a lot of socials of the student societies will meet/ have their ball meal in such places. Also you can download wriggle app, which gives you discounts on restaurants or Too Good To Go app which you buy a "magic bag" for like under £4 and you get a