Should I drop a subject if I am given a low predicted grade

Watch
thatbadstudent
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm studying maths further maths physics and chemistry, we had online exams in June where I got A*A*A*A but as many people cheated my sixth form isn't using those exams for predicted grades and we will be doing another set of exams in September.
I am quite confident that I will do just as well in the subjects I got A*s in but I was on the grade boundary for an A in chemistry, and have been working at a high B/low A throughout the year, so I was wondering if I did very badly in the upcoming test and was predicted a B would it make more sense to just drop the subject?
Emily5243
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
What do you want to do in the future?
thatbadstudent
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
(Original post by Emily5243)
What do you want to do in the future?
maths
Emily5243
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by thatbadstudent)
maths
So chemistry is the least relevant subject out of the 4 you do. If you think that being predicted a B would hinder applications to uni, them it's probably best to drop chemistry if you do get predicted a B
Claydo66
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Firstly I wouldn’t call B a low grade.
Secondly most unis won’t require a 4th A level so unless you are wanting to do a degree that requires chemistry or is chemistry related, I would drop it. It will let you focus more on your other three and you can ensure you’ll get all 3 of your A*s if you’re striving for perfection.