Computer Science PhD following MSc CS Conversion - not realistic?

Watch
kellettt
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hey - I am currently completing an MSc Computer Science with Data Analytics at York. It's a 'conversion' course I am doing alongside work and I have a BSc in Economics. I've worked in tech consulting for a few years since graduating and initially wanted to move closer to becoming a developer rather than implementing the solutions.

However, I'm now enjoying the studying way more than I've ever enjoyed my job and am considering applying for a PhD on completion. I did some applied statistics as part of my undergrad and will be completing AI/ML and Big Data modules as part of my MSc (as well as the standard CS theory modules) and would love to get onto a PhD course in machine learning/data (generic, I know - I'm working on that). Am I going to be realistically too unqualified on completion to be considered for a PhD? (Particularly a funded one, as I can't afford to self-fund)

Would appreciate any and all advice!

Edit: My undergrad is a First from Kent and I am working on the assumption this is only even remotely realistic if I achieve a Distinction for my MSc, which I have confidence I will do.
Last edited by kellettt; 1 week ago
Helloworld_95
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
You would really have to ask around to different supervisors, but I'd say you probably have a reasonable chance, particularly if you lean on your economics background. Being multidisciplinary is very valuable for engineering PhDs so I would imagine there are at least some supervisors out there who would be keen on someone with your background.
kellettt
Rep:
?
(Original post by Helloworld_95)