Windows Won't Boot Watch

halátnost
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
I have a problem with my laptop which has happened once before and was resolved successfully by a technician. Basically, my laptop switches on but Windows does not boot. No option of starting Windows works eg. Safe Mode, Last Known Configuration etc - they are all useless. Also occasionally the computer starts to beep.

I know that this can be resolved successfully and without loss/damage of data because, as I said, it was fixed once before a couple of years ago. This is only the second time it has ever been done. I've heard that one can reboot from a floppy disk but I don't have a disk drive on my laptop. Does anybody know how I can boot into Windows without losing data to repair Windows?

(I am not very good with computers btw). It is important as I have a lot of important data on there at the moment, and by memory is running exceedingly low, which perhaps (?) was part of the problem.

Thanks very much in advance, much appreciated.
Magnum Opus
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
what actually appens when u turn it on? ntldr missing?
halátnost
Rep:
?
(Original post by arisk01)
what actually appens when u turn it on? ntldr missing?
It is a black screen with the white writing as follows:

"We apologise for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this..."

It has a list of possible options of starting Windows according to what one thinks might have happened, eg. Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Networking, Safe Mode with Commanding Prompt etc, but none of them work. However, the Windows XP Professional logo comes up and the loading bar, but it always just reboots itself. There is a split second flash of a blue screen before the reboot.
Magnum Opus
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
ok, put in the XP CD and do a repair
halátnost
Rep:
?
Ok, will try. You think there's a good chance it will succeed?
Magnum Opus
Rep:
?