mhenley98
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
Hello everyone,

I understand that this thread is for teachers, trainees and NQTs and do this may not be the best place for my question since I’m only just about to apply for teacher training, but it’s current trainees’/teachers’ advice that I’m looking for so here goes!

I’m studying Mathematics at the University of Birmingham and am due to graduate in July 2021. I’m hoping to start teacher training in September 2021 but am struggling to decide between providers, although I feel that I’m pretty valued up on the pros and cons of each...

I’ve just been offered a place on the Teach First training programme after being assessed on a 3-day online event that replaced a weeks internship that was cancelled. I originally applied for the internship to get some school experience whilst being paid, not because I wanted to join Teach First. As I’m sure you all know, TF work in more challenging schools, and although I’ve been told this is more rewarding, it wasn’t something I was keen to do when I could train in a more pleasant school. However, I’ve been told that TF offer lots of support, including when it comes to seeking leadership positions which is what I would want to do. They also have great links with other employers in different industries and run paid summer projects with these companies. Then of course, you get a pretty standard salary whilst training and don’t have to pay tuition fees for your training. The qualification you get is a PGDE - if you wish to carry on and finish the Masters, TF subsidise this for you. One other disadvantage to TF is that you could really be placed anywhere in the region you select.