All or nothing thinking

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I struggle with something called 'all or nothing thinking.' I only just found it what it was called after searching it up. It's pretty self-explanatory, but basically it just means that the vast majority of things that I say and think are at one extreme or the other (usually in a negative way). For example I use a lot of superlatives when I speak, even when they're not applicable or appropriate. I probably come across as way too 'full on' to other people when I'm feeling confident. In terms of thinking, basically all of my thoughts are too extreme. Everything is either perfect or terrible, I take things too seriously, most of my opinions are far too strong, if I'm not really good at something then I'm a total failure, etc.

Does anyone else suffer from this? I feel like it is hardwired into my personality as I have always been like this, getting worse throughout my life (I'm 22), so it's not possible to just shake it off as I'd have to become a completely different person. I don't know what to do about it. It makes my life a lot worse than it needs to be and I'm not sure why I think like this in the first place. I suspect it's some sort of 'identity' thing, like I compulsively need to somehow be special/stand out lest I feel like I'm a nobody and have no value as a person.
FrazzleFace
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)