Tips for preparing for graduate jobs application process?

Watch
Ara1234
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Going into 3rd year, and I want to make the most of my summer by being as prepared as a can when September rolls around, so I can start applying for graduate roles as soon as possible
I'm doing Accounting and Finance, and would like to go into a finance related role.
I'm going to start practicing psychometric tests, and perhaps just answering general interview question, as I've never done an interview before, and being prepared would really help me.
If you've been through the grad recruiting process, what tips would you give to those starting to apply next year? to make the application process less stressful?
Any advice appreciated thanks.
Otherdjrj
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Prepare your cover letters now so when apps roll around you can just send them off without too much trouble.

Also, as you’ve already said, psychometric tests are a biggie. No point preparing your interview technique and cv etc if you fall at the first hurdle. Most people underestimate the importance of them.

I guess just practise all aspects of the interview process. If you aren’t good on video then practise that, same with phone interviews. Plus you can tell what the main questions will be, why you? Why the firm? Weaknesses? etc so get all these nailed down

If you can answer the ‘standard’ questions really well, the chances are the rest of the interview will be more relaxed
Legomenon
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
In addition to the above I want to point out that most graduate interviews are very 'competency-based,' i.e. they will ask you questions such as 'give me an example of a time you were creative/worked in a team/overcame some hardship etc.'